Baby Short Sleep Pants

Standard

Handsome H needed some cooler pants for bedtime as its starting to get warm even through the nights in this home. The last week I have had to strip him down to a creeper for bed as even his poor little footsies are like furnaces. Poor fella gets it from his daddy and brother, while I always find my feet and arms get chilly at night when I am not moving about. So I thought today would be a great day to fix this issue. I had two cute fat quarters I bought about 6 or 7 months ago to do a pair of lounge pants for him, and felt guilty when I found them in my stash still untouched :( Well time to rectify the wrong right? Ofcourse!!

Handsome H and his handsome short sleep pants!

Handsome H and his handsome short sleep pants!

Ok, so I am sure you are wondering why the two different prints for the legs– haha I cannot help but give in to the urge when I want to do both, but do not want to pick one first, so I decided to do both in the first pair! You see, I am that person who will mix two types of  cereals for breakfast when I get anxious with the decision to choose.  It goes further than cereal to be honest, but it is probably the smallest example to share haha!

So on with the pants . . .  these were simple and took less than an hour to do, even with distracting tasks such as fetching snacks, building a puzzle, and entertaining the above 9 month old. Here is a brief run down of how this little pair were whipped up.

All that was needed:

  • 2 Fat quarters for pant legs
  • same amount for lining if you wanted to line them
  • elastic for waistband
  • pants for reference (same size you are making or 1size down or above is easier to adjust)
  • sewing supplies (machine, scissors, thread, pins)

Choose your pants for tracing–

I loved this pants for him as I did his brother, but they just are too warm for this season :(

I loved these pants for him as I did his brother, but they just are too warm for this season.

Then trace the panel onto the reverse side of your fat quarters. I did this with the fat quarters folded so I would have a nice fold for the panel. Repeat for the second panel- make sure you get a right and left side though :)

Here is what I ended up with !

Here is what I ended up with !

Looking pretty simple still right? Please tell me if anything needs correcting! This is a first attempt for me. I shortened the leg length for my pair here and made them a bit wider to help keep him cool enough for night! To do this all I did was add an extra 3/4″ to the bottom of the leg where it began to taper.

Next we are going match our two panels right sides together and line up the center seam (waistband and bum portion right to the center point- we will pin the edges and sew ONLY the center seam. Don’t sew down the pant legs yet!

Mark center seam to leg seam! This way you know where you need to stop before stitching the Leg Seam!

Mark center seam to leg seam! This way you know where you need to stop before stitching the Leg Seam!

Pinning the Center Seams!

Pinning the Center Seams!

Don't forget to trim your seam to 1/4" apprx. and press open!

Don’t forget to trim your seam to 1/4″ apprx. and press open!

Now that your center seams are stitched and pressed, we can now get to the leg seam– simple, I promise! Alright so here we are–

We are going to stitch from the bottom of one leg to the other!

We are going to stitch from the bottom of one leg to the other!

Basically we are stitching the little “V”! So we get this . . .

Leg seam stitched and ready to press open

Leg seam stitched and ready to press open

Lets get that seam pressed open and move on to our waistband! So this part depends of what we are using for elastic. I used 1/2″ elastic so I made a 1/2″ casing apprx. I did a lot of by eye measuring– it turned out fine this time, but I really need to get out of that habit!  So to do this– simply while your pants are still inside out, fold over the top desired amount for casing–pin in place and stitch closed, leaving a small space to insert elastic!

Fold over to make casing! I also pressed the casing before stitching.

Fold over to make casing! I also pressed the casing before stitching.

After casing is stitched, insert your elastic and close space left open on casing. Here is a really helpful tut for inserting the elastic in any waistband project– http://sewingnovice.com/2011/08/02/elastic-waistband-tutorial/

Alright so after this waistband business, we are moving on to the hem on the bottom of the legs:

I folded the legt bottoms in 1/2" as I wanted short pants, pressed the hem and turned the pants right side out!

I folded the legt bottoms in 1/2″ as I wanted short pants, pressed the hem and turned the pants right side out! And topstitched around the pant legs! 

If you are making regular pant legs I would suggest doing 1/4″ hem– up to you :) You are the artist of your work! Some people like a taller hem :) You can also do a contrasting color thread, fun stitch style or even add ribbon or ric rac!!

My Simple Hem

My Simple Hem

Now you have your little pants!

Ready to try on!

Ready to try on!

Hard to catch him still! 9 months with a big ol belly :)

Hard to catch him still! 9 months with a big ol belly :)

These were very simple, I hope my little tutorial and photos help a bit if you wanted to try them yourself! I am sure there are other similar tutorials online. I did another pair from a t-shirt a while ago as well, and the steps were quite similar! Although I think these turned out much better due to the fact that I have been sewing a bit longer now!

These pants could also easily have some fun adaptations. Would be easy to add some pockets. Lining would be great too for warmer pants, I would use fleece for winter pants :) You could really take this to all sorts of hights with extra notions and embellishments!! I would love to see pictures of your little pants! There are so many options in fabric for little pants– it could really become an addiction!

Well I hope that you can make sense of my directions. Haha sorry I must laugh out loud a little– I have a poor sense of direction. Thanks for stopping by Chellybean Crafting. Stay Silly

Chels

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

