Making new home OUR home!!

Standard

Hey so I guess it is obvious that I have been offline for a while now! I apologize as I have not gotten the Internet hooked up at the new house as of yet. I will just pop in here and then to add some quick posts when I can! I apologize as I will have to save some bigger project posts until I have easier access without time restriction or dragging my camera and phone and the cords to the blessed people I have to humble me with their wifi.

With that said, I thought I would share some quick projects that have taken up some of my time in the new pad. We just moved into a humble little cozy house outside of town with a bit more privacy and a little closer to my parents J. It has been a nice quiet transition thus far and also a great opportunity to change some of our routine here with the boys to give them a better quality of life than the former area we had been at.  Also I have a sewing room just off my bedroom! It still needs work, but with the help of a sewing desk from my Mama <3 and some storage containers it has begun. It will need flooring and some paint and also a little more light to really pop, but I am quite content working in there right now as oppose to my kitchen table as previously all my projects are put together!!

I now have a sewing room/craft room  this is the only picture I dare show right now. Still needs a lot of work so more to follow later

I now have a sewing room/craft room this is the only picture I dare show right now. Still needs a lot of work so more to follow later

So Alas, here are a few quick snaps—I apologize for the quality being so poor but I really could not find the time to fight with lighting.

My mum has always found things that I can work with, so to go with the colors of my kitchen (chosen to go with the clock she had gotten me for Mother’s Day) she found a fun table cloth from the dollar store to use for my kitchen curtains and also found its way into Hunter’s room to help break up the yellow on the wall. She had given me a set of black generic candle holders. I did a quick pain job and found candle sticks that went with the color scheme.

Pretty straight forward project! Sometimes it is nice to get away from the Singer every once in a while.

Pretty straight forward project! Sometimes it is nice to get away from the Singer every once in a while.

The table Cloth turned simple curtains!!  I realize they are not fancy, but we really are not a fancy people anyway haha. Silly is more our style :)

The table Cloth turned simple curtains!! I realize they are not fancy, but we really are not a fancy people anyway haha. Silly is more our style :)

My Clock and medallion for the kitchen wall!! Fun colors!!

My Clock and medallion for the kitchen wall!! Fun colors!!

 

 

Also from a magazine project I did my own version of a fun decorative medallion for our kitchen wall to interpret some more red in the kitchen.   Still a bit more work needed to be done to cover the kitchen, but it is a start.

Also some fun for the upstairs hallway. My mum had instilled the love and need for literature in our lives as kids, and that is something that we like to have fun with here in our home now.  Even daddy, who was never big on reading much but video game books enjoys reading time with the boys. Books that are silly are a big hit with Mr. M. Our favorite bedtime stories right now include, The Stinky Cheeseman, Smidge (a very hungry monster), The Jungle Book, Robin Hood, Done’t Bump the Glump, and Terrible T, and a few others that are just plain nonsense. Handsome H has become a big fan of Dr. Seuss’s ABCs.  As a big Dr. Seuss fan, we began to  incorporate a lot of Dr. Seuss in the reading area.  My mum and dad had updated the shelving in their livingroom, so guess who got 2 nice size bookshelves for the reading area? ME!!!! They even painted them and did ombre paper for the cubby doors J They were a big hit as we could put the smaller puzzles and things that get a little tedious to clean up every few hours in the bottom shelves so  we have more control when they come out for playtime.

The wall and shelf view!

The wall and shelf view!

Really Nice Painting for the kids from Uncle Cam's talented GF! Thanks Jess.

Really Nice Painting for the kids from Uncle Cam’s talented GF! Thanks Jess.

Reading Area Seating

Reading Area Seating

Story Time Station!

Story Time Station!

 

We also have a lot more room for the boy’s book collection to grow over the years. Their own personal library. Some wall stickers and paper lanterns to add to the theme of bright and fun!!!  Also on the look out for a good deal on some Dr. Seuss fabric to change the Sesame Street bean bag chair to help along the theme. Lots of time spent here so its nice to keep bright. Also have curtains started with yellow and violet to keep the brightness from that window in!!  If we buy the place I would like to put in a light fixture on that side of the hall for more light in the evening, but for right now we are putting the little mushroom pop light to good use.

Projects for the boys are soon to come as well, thanks to the wonderful world of Pinterest I found inspiration to get a plain lamp and add some dinosaurs to the post to make a fun dinosaur lamp for Mr. M’s room and I would like to get paint some monkeys from monkey’s in a barrel to hang on Hunter’s little green lamp to help liven up the room some more.

So Alas, a quick glimpse right. Very quick haha, I am saving my craft room for a later day and will do a before and after shot too just to see what all was really done with it J I have yet to decide on flooring and paint. I get so stressed with stuff like that—there are really too many options (you should see me try to decide one what to eat when we are out at a restaurant. I know, Real World  Problems ehhh.

Well thanks for popping in and taking a look at the new place. I will update as we update haha. Remember to stay silly.

Chels

 

Oh and my little Handsom H has turned 1 year this month! Time really goes by so fast!! He had a great party and was spoiled by family and friends. He was a ringmaster to his own circus. I made this little tie for his photos however it was misplaced ;P sometime before the party was not put to use that day!! It will go in the tickle trunk with the other dress up items I suppose haha.

This little tie will debut for Handsome H's 1st Birthday Photos this week :)

This little tie will debut for Handsome H’s 1st Birthday Photos this week :)

My little Handsome H!! A little over 12 months old and now walking!! He is really starting to get back to napping with all the energy he goes through now . . . I really don't blame the poor fella <3
My little Handsome H!! A little over 12 months old and now walking!! He is really starting to get back to napping with all the energy he goes through now . . . I really don’t blame the poor fella <3

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

